Send feedback on this topic.
.NET Data Provider for Teradata > Developer's Guide > Product Support, Troubleshooting and Error Messages > Troubleshooting

During the development of an application, or the execution of a deployed application, problems may occur that are difficult to solve using a debugger. In these situations the logging and tracing facilities made available by the Teradata provider and the .NET Framework can be the most useful tools that can used to solve these problems.

This feature is also used by the Teradata support staff to analyze problems with the provider or Teradata database.

Teradata Provider Logging and Tracing

The logging and tracing facilities support six different levels of logging and tracing:

  1. Error
  2. Warning
  3. Informational
  4. Trace External
  5. Trace Internal
  6. Debug

Each level is cumulative. For example, messages written when the level is set to Warning will include warning as well as messages related to the Error Level. The Information level will contain informational messages as well as warnings and errors.

The Data Messages sent to, or from, Teradata may also be logged. When DataMessage logging is requested it ignores the level specified. You may however specify the maximum number of bytes that will be written to the log by using a configuration file.

In This Section

Logging and Tracing on Windows

Logging and Tracing on Linux

Example Configuration File

Components of the Message Header

Levels of Logging